Historic vote sees Claire Ward elected as Mayor of the East Midlands

Mayor Claire Ward

Claire Ward has been elected as Mayor of the East Midlands.

The Labour Party candidate was declared winner of the region’s historic first Mayoral election, following the count at Nottingham Tennis Centre on Friday 3 May.

Claire Ward, Mayor of the East Midlands, said: “I am truly humbled that the people of Derby, Derbyshire, Nottingham and Nottinghamshire have elected me to become your very-first East Midlands Mayor.

“We know we can punch above our weight as a region, but we have been held back. Constantly at the bottom of the table for investment from Government, projects promised then scrapped, we’ve been overlooked and underfunded for too long. That must end now.

“If we are going to change politics and make it work better for people, we will need to work together. As Mayor, I will work across the political divides, uniting those who share an ambition to make this a better place, so we can delivery truly transformational change for our region.

“So let me set out that my commitment from day one is to be the person who stands up for this region, shouts out for this region and demands better for this region.

“Our region has a proud heritage of leading where others follow. From Cromford Mill, to Derby’s Silk Mill, this is the true birthplace of the industrial revolution. Our businesses and creative talent across the region, over decades, have led in manufacturing and innovation.

“Together we will restore that pride and purpose, to make the East Midlands the best place to live, to work and to learn.”

The election, held on Thursday 2 May, saw votes cast across Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Derby and Nottingham.

The Mayor will have access to over £4 billion in funding, alongside devolved powers around transport, housing, skills and adult education, Net-Zero and economic development.

Claire Ward will hold office for four years, with the next East Midlands Mayoral election set to be held in May 2028.

The full results are as follows:

Frank Adlington-Stringer (Green Party) – 50,666 votes
Benjamin David Bradley (Conservative Party) – 129,332 votes
Alan Graves (Reform UK) – 49,201 votes
Matthew James Relf (Independent) – 23,359 votes
Helen Louise Tamblyn-Saville (Liberal Democrat) – 15,970 votes
Claire Margaret Ward (Labour Party) – 181,040 votes

Published on: 3 May 2024

Categories: News

Skip to content